Physical Therapy

DPT Faculty, Students and Alumni Serve in Multiple Leadership Positions at National and State Level

Written By: | May 7, 2021

UCF DPT faculty

UCF DPT faculty, students and alumni are committed to advancing the profession of physical therapy and how future PTs are trained. Several representatives from the Division of Physical Therapy were named into leadership roles at the national and state level within the PT profession this past year.


Recently Named National Level Positions

Morris “Rick” Beato

  • American Board of Physical Therapy Specialists, Neurologic Specialty Council, Item Review Coordinator (appointed)
  • APTA Academy of Education, Awards Committee (Chair)

Laurie Neely

  • Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy, Exam Development Committee for National Exam (appointed)
  • Academy of Physical Therapy Education, Nominating Committee (elected)

Patrick Pabian

  • American Council of Academic Physical Therapy, Education Research Council (appointed)
  • American Academy of Sports Physical Therapy, Sports Physical Therapy Education Committee (appointed)
  • American Academy of Sports Physical Therapy, Sports Physical Therapy Practice (appointed)

Carey Rothschild

  • American Board of Physical Therapy Specialists, Sports Specialty Council (new chair, appointed)

Matt Stock

  • National Institute of Health, Musculoskeletal Rehabilitation Sciences Study Section (appointed)
  • Experimental Gerontology, Journal Editor (appointed)


Recently Named State Level Positions

Laurie Neely

  • Florida Physical Therapy Association, Florida Partnership for Rehabilitation Education and Practice (appointed)

Patrick Pabian

  • Florida Department of Health, Division of Medical Quality Assurance, Florida Board of Physical Therapy (new chair, elected)

Jennifer Tucker

  • Florida Physical Therapy Association, Assembly Representative (elected)


In addition, several alumni and a current student were recently elected to state-level leadership positions.


Alumni And Students Named to State Level Leadership Positions

Amanda Williamson ’15

  • Florida Physical Therapy Association, Board of Directors (elected)

Vanessa Ziccardi ’15

  • Florida Physical Therapy Association, Board of Directors (elected)

Constanza (Connie) Aranda Garcia ’18

  • Florida Physical Therapy Association, Early Professionals Special Interest Group Chair (elected)

Zofia Haack ’23

  • Florida Physical Therapy Association, Student Special Interest Group Chair (elected)

Marino Bucci ’22

  • FPTA Student SIG Board of Directors – Chair, 2020-2021  (elected)
  • American Academy of Sports Physical Therapy – Membership Ambassador, 2021 (appointed)
  • FPTA National Advocacy Dinner – 2020, 2021 Event Coordinator (appointed)

More Topics

Physical Therapy
gift box
To help fund student scholarships, faculty excellence and innovative programming.

Related News Articles

Subscribe to the CHPS newsletter

Be the first to hear about new things happening in the college!

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.